Audrey Widyanata Photography

Mapo Tofu

 

 

I was introduced to this simple and delicious dish when I was studied in San Diego, California, several years ago. Apparently, Mapo Tofu is very popular here, especially among my friends, since it is taste so good and really affordable for students.

Originally, Mapo Tofu is a well-known dish from the Sichuan province of China, that pretty strongly flavored and also spicy.  It is a kind of comfort food that really good with anything, although I prefer to have it with hot white rice.

Since I like to cook, I try to cook it myself, and surprisingly my friends and family love my version a lot.  Actually, the recipe is so simple and you can’t go wrong, even for the beginner.  So, here you go, feel free to try my recipe and let me know if you like it.

Enjoy…

Ingredients:

  • 1 lbs. Ground Beef (you can also use ground pork if you like it)
  • 14 oz. Tofu Medium/Regular firm
  • 4 pcs. Shitake Mushrooms – chop
  • 3 Cloves garlic – ground
  • 1/4 cup of chopped Onion
  • 1/4 cup of chopped Green Onions
  • Oyster Sauce, Chili Paste, Soy Sauce, Black Pepper, Sugar – according to your own taste
  • 5 tsp Vegetable Oil

How to make:

  • Cut the tofu into dice size.
  • Heat vegetable oil in the wok over the medium temperature, then stir fry the onion, garlic, and bit of the green onion (save some to sprinkle on top of your dish) until it smell good.
  • Put in the minced beef, then black pepper, soy sauce and sugar fry and mix it well until it half done.
  • Put the diced tofu and mushrooms, mix well but do it gently.
  • Put the oyster sauce and chili paste, and mix one more time.
  • Then taste it, add sugar, oyster sauce or black pepper if you think it’s needed.
  • Let it cooked thoroughly in the lower heat.
  • When cooked, serve it hot and sprinkle the rest of the green onion on top of the dish.

Note: If you like spicy food, you can also combine the vegetable oil with chili oil

2 responses

  1. I love mapo tofu! I will give this recipe a try soon!

    April 7, 2011 at 3:39 AM

    • Hi Lulu! Let me know if you already try my recipe. Hope it satisfy your palate! 🙂

      April 28, 2011 at 12:52 AM

Leave a Reply

